18 related anecdote no. 27

The other day a friend of mine raised the following issue – what happens if I get a DVD for Christmas and it’s a 15 but it’s got the Irish 18 certificate next to it – you know, this one:

Well, my advice is you immedietely snap the DVD in two, punch whoever gave it to you and burn the Christmas tree down.  This IS NOT an 18.  It’s ok if there’s the superior red BBFC 18 stamp next to it, but only in this case.

Although this is what I would call a ‘good’ 15, there are still no excuses for watching it.

However, what about if the opposite happens?  What happens if you’ve got a DVD which is a BBFC 18 but an Irish 15.  IT DOESN’T MATTER WHAT YOUR NAME IS!  You’re ok, you can still watch it.  Although because this is a ‘bad’ 18, it should be kept away from sunlight and never be fed treats like Pepperami or Haribo.  You should also Tipp-Ex the offending Irish 15 out too.  Or replace it with a sticker of a potato if you are a fucking dirket installer.

About I Only Watch 18s

I only watch 18s because I'm not some sort of pussy dickhead lightweight.
This entry was posted in 18 Related Anecdotes, 18s and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 18 related anecdote no. 27

  1. Chris MacLennan says:

    PHEW! Thank The Rock you cleared that up.

  2. Smogo says:

    I’ve only just discovered your excellent blog, hence this reply coming about 5 weeks late.

    Thing is, it would never happen. BBFC rules state that, if the Irish board gave it a different certificate, they’re not allowed to both be printed on the sleeve.

    Thought I’d clear that up, aiight.

  3. Smogo, it definitely does happen, because I’ve got some! I’m frantically searching through my collection for proof – this could take a while…

    Glad you like the blog. It’s quite possibly the best thing on the internet.

  4. Ah I see what you mean – I can’t seem to find one where it’s printed on the cover – but I’ve got some where it’s printed on the DVD itself. I guess it’s too late to find out when you’ve already bought it. It’s the risk you’ve gotta take I suppose.

Leave a Reply

